Hoot for Owls

In an alternate universe, I’m a full-time crafter and a part time writer. It’s a great fantasy that I keep coming back to when I’m feeling overwhelmed (which seems to be everyday lately). Crafting is such therapy that despite serious time shortage for anything other than work, I took on a little commission job to do table centerpiece accessories for an owl-themed birthday party. Sewing this kept me sane and afforded me some “me time” this crazy week.

I love owls and I’ve made some before, but the pattern that I made two years ago is a little labor intensive, especially with it being two inches tall. What I did have time for was a handful of simple owls that basically played with two shapes: circle and teardrop-like. Sew in a chopstick and you’ve got a quick and dirty decorative stake you can stab into the floral foam of your table’s blooming centerpiece.

Image

Leave a comment