A Handmade Christmas

For most of December 2009, I was stuck in bed recuperating from  surgery. When I had managed to finally sit up without keeling over during week 2.5, I began finishing up my holiday gifts.

I’m lucky I have friends who like quirky, kitschy stuff. All of these are feltie pins and I actually surprised myself with how well they turned out. The design choices are based on my friends’ personalities, the tooth being the only special request from the bunch.

Most of the felties are around 2 inches tall. A real killer for the fingers, I tell you. I also did some larger ones–around 4.5 x3.5 inches. It was fun to do and very simple especially if you’re used to working with felt. I’m quite a stickler for making the back part look as neat as the front, which contributed to my snail’s pace sewing. Best part were the reactions when I finally handed them out.

Here’s my first batch of feltie pins!

One thought on “A Handmade Christmas

Leave a comment